My gorgeous wooden box set of 120 Sennelier oil pastels arrived a couple of weeks ago, shortly before my departure for a week on the Isle of Wight, giving me sadly little chance for messy play before I left.

Back now from what was a wonderful family trip involving beaches and zoos and dinosaurs (and my first visit movie outing in 18 months, to see the stunning Coraline 3D), I’ve put the finishing tweaks to the portrait I’d started back in the real world.

This is Melody in shades of green, 6×9″ on Daler Murano paper. [Please click for embiggened view.]

The possibility has arisen this week of a painting commission; my first in over 3 years. Bring it on, I say, even if the demands of freelance work and home and motherhood will make it tricky. It is, ultimately, the thing I most want to do with my life.

